About her

I’m a 30-something woman living in Berlin, Germany (the famous one, with the wall and stuff).


If you define me by how I sell my labour, then I’m a front-end web developer, specialising in performance, design systems, architecting beautifully-written Sass and creating sustainable build processes. What does this mean? It means that I’m a developer with an eye for design and who cares for site users. I’m someone who will make sure your site looks amazing and performs fast. I’m someone who will create a beautiful site and beautiful code.

I’m a late entrant into the web game, having only started as a web developer in 2012. But I’ve been in kissing distance of the web and technology for most of my life, while working as a graphics designer in private business and a technology teacher and VLE admin at further education institutions.

I speak at events, write about the web and am generally considered pretty darned good at what I do. I work for Springer Nature (the good Springer, not the evil one) in Berlin, and was previously at BBC News in London, where I was responsible for building the 2015 General Election site.


If you define me as a person and by my life outside work, then I’m a horse riding, photography-taking, bike riding, beer drinking, feminist leftie; a strawberry-blonde gay woman, with her head always buried in a book.

Oh, and I moved from London to Berlin recently nearly 3 years ago, so check up on that.

Bonus fact: I have voluntary control of my tensor tympani muscles.

Favourite quote about me: “Well, you do have more than a touch of the German techno-anarchist about you”.